Some schools start teaching a foreign language in primary school years. Do the advantages of teaching foreign languages to young children outweigh its disadvantages?

In recent years, adding foreign languages into a curriculum in primary education institutes has become an area of government priority in the development of the education system around the world. Many propose that this contains many potential disadvantages; however, from my perspective, some advantages could outweigh the drawbacks. Firstly, it is noteworthy that the core subjects in grammar school are the mother tongue language, this could lead to a big confusion for the pupil who needs to study both languages besides many other tough subjects with their lack of mother tongue language. Furthermore, to be qualified and professional at a language needs much time and a lot of hard-working for them to do it. And the worst situation, this made those students meet a lot of problems about mental health due to the struggling with new things from school meanwhile they do not develop enough the brain’s cognitive function. Chinese students not only study hieroglyphs but also Latin letters, this could be cited as a good example of the above opinion. Besides the problem, I do believe that these advantages could outweigh the issue. Firstly, learning foreign languages at a young age could be more easily than we think. Some studies indicate that children have the ability to adapt and learn new things fast. Therefore, the problem of studying new languages could be solved in the believing that they can easily process the new knowledge as well apply maximum their memorize ability. Furthermore, they can find interesting in learning by adding the culture of the origin country. The objectors may argue that it is hard for pupils to learn many subjects at the same time. This could be easily solved by modifying the study program such as moving some subjects to the upper level of education. In conclusion, although meeting many issues, adding foreign languages in primary school still get many advantages that help children develop well-rounded.