Inspite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Regardless of all improvements in agriculture, plenty of individuals in this world are still hunger-stricken. Inequitable land distribution is one reason why it is so and governments may play a vital role in addressing this problem. A lot of improvements have been made in agriculture. However, some individuals or communities are still famished around the globe. To begin, this may be due to monopolies in productive land ownership by the elite. This means that the poor will be driven to non-productive resulting in failure to produce enough food for themselves and their families. As an example, a land audit carried out by the South African government in 2017 revealed that, over 80% of the arable and productive land is owned by powerful politicians and the rich leaving the poor to grow poorer and hungrier. Nevertheless, there are potential solutions that can help to minimize the problem. Firstly the government should ensure equitable distribution of land. That is, land should also be allocated to small scall subsistent farmers to enable them to produce for their and families' consumption. For instance, resettling the youths in much more productive land other then having to consider what one owns before doing so. Secondly, state authorities should also ensure that a percentage of the produce from the rich and elite be channelled to feed the hungry in this world. As a result, no one will do hungry. To conclude, agricultural mechanization and advancement are not the sole interventions to ensure food security for all, equitable land distribution, as well as food handouts from the rich to the poor, may ensure that people are well fed.