Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others, disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

During the job applications process, employers usually ask several inquiries during the interview time. However, sometimes these questions focus on personal life, instead of technical abilities' themed questions. In this essay, I will explain this information's relevance and usefulness and why I believe this inquiry should be avoided. To begin with, some hiring professionals spare some query related to particular issues such as marital status, types of hobbies and what kind of activity usually the person like to do for their amusement. If this happens to break the ice during the interview process, I believe that such inquiries are harmless and could help the candidate to relax. But the answer to these questioning should not have any impact on the final decision for the position application. Such decisions should rely only on technical abilities knowledge, and interpersonal relationships. For instance, the choice between two people might be related to who has more experience in doing that specific job and have teamwork skills, rather than if they are married with two kids and do not like sports. This is because some job applicants may think they could be declassified because they have small kids, or because they are in a relationship, especially among women candidates. Consequently, they sometimes have to lie about some personal information in order to have the same technical assessment as other candidates. In conclusion, if personal queries are done with the aim to make the interview more comfortable and less stressful then it can be useful, but otherwise, I believe that if the aim is to evaluate some candidates based on their answers, this should be avoided, since there is no relevant information that could be assessed.