Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinion differs as to whether or not, pupils should be given any homework. While there are strong arguments against this discussion. I still believe homework plays an essential role in the education system. There are several reasons why people might criticize that homework put an unnecessary burden on students’ shoulders. Firstly, new studies indicate, the idea of having homework is effectless on the pupil’s scores, especially in humanities and geography courses. Secondly, most of the parents claim that their children are too tired from spending long hours in school, there is no need to put more pressure on them, also they need to have a appropriate leisure time to regain the energy, for instance, in Finland where schoolchildren are not given any homework surprisingly, Finland has a high rate of academic essays among the world. Finally, evidence shows us after school activities can be more effective and develop children’s brains from a learning perspective. In spite of the above arguments, I support the view of doing homework, because it encourages students to welcome new challenges and prepare them for future adversities, moreover, it teaches them how to solve the problem independently thus, it increases their self-esteem. We need to raise a strong generation to become more productive and stop procrastinating. In conclusion, obviously, homework has its drawbacks however I believe the benefits outweigh them in the long term.