Question : The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The claim that the most crucial global issue which needs to be tackled is the replacement of sustainable sources of energy with fossil fuels seems to be refuted due to the fact that there are other intense conditions such as poverty and deforestation being equally important and needing immediate action. Poverty is now considered as one of the major drives of increased crime rate in societies, particularly in underdeveloped countries. Ignoring this issue would lead to chaos in the 3rd world countries and would affect other nations adversely regardless of their wealth level. Massive numbers of illegal immigrants could be introduced as the result of an increase in the number of people who cannot afford a decent living in their country of origin. Although the government in poor countries are the main forces that can solve this problem, wealthier societies have a humane duty to contribute to their less affluent counterparts financially. Clearly, such vital matters could not be regarded as a low-priority issue. Deforestation, as far as I am concerned, could be known as the second most vital situation that ought to be resolved. Removing trees in recent decades have had the same amount of negative impact on the environment as using fossil fuels does. By continuing this trend, for housing or farming purposes, people make themselves deprived of getting free oxygen which is produced by most trees as the result of photosynthesis. This phenomenon, in addition, helps the alleviation of carbon dioxide in the air as it is consumed by trees during the process. By lessening the number of trees each year, thus, people contribute to the air becoming more polluted. The adverse impacts of the aforementioned worldwide issues, in my view, are so harmful that governments should put them on top of their issue-logs. This is not to say that finding new sources of renewable or green energy is of low importance, but we should know that there are other issues that need to be thought about simultaneously. In conclusion, while seeking new sources of energy other than fossil fuels is totally mandatory, governments should not ignore problems that may have the same or even worse effects on society, namely poverty and deforestation.