Should an ordinary man be given the license to keep a revolver and gun?

In the modern era, criminal activities are increasing at the speed of light. Owing to this, a group of thoughts believe that a common man is entitled to get the license to keep a pistol and firearms with him; however, I oppose this. First and foremost, allowing a common man to have a handgun with him could put him in a threatening situation. As all these are dangerous weapons that can easily lead to murders it would become difficult to identify the real culprit in case of any mishappening. For instance, if keeping a gun would become legal for everybody, then one can commit the crime and put his guilt on someone else. Consequently, without doing any offence innocent people will have to suffer. In addition to this, this freedom could pave the way for misuse of these types of equipment. Since there will be no foundation to keep possession of firearms, people might use these weapons to serve their personal interests. To exemplify, in the case of any little dispute or for professional purposes one can misuse the guns. Hence, allowing guns to all could be disastrous. On the flip side, an array of society thinks that permitting plebs to keep arms with themselves would be the appropriate step to create a safer society. Since one can go anywhere securely it will lessen criminal activities which ultimately help in making a safer environment. Furthermore, self-protection is a legitimate right of all citizens. Hence government should allow them to keep arms with themselves and join hands with them in order to protect them from any criminal activity. However, as per my point of view, without any training one cannot use the arms in a proper way so the police and defence department should be allowed to have guns exclusively as they get trained prior to the usage of these guns. To conclude, a handful of people asserts that the common man is entitled to keep arms and pistols with himself in order to protect himself against criminals, however, I ponder, police and defence forces are the sole entities who can use the guns and pistols in the best way for the safety of each individual.