Today family members do not eat meals together. Why does this happen? Is this a positive or negative development

In the current modern world, particularly in large cities, people are too busy to have adequate time to eat at home compared to the past in which families mostly gathered around the table. To me, despite a few pros associated with this situation, it is absolutely a negative trend. As mentioned above, as a result of overpopulation accompanied by a competitive job market, higher standards of living and universal financial crisis, people tend to work harder which results in a shortage of free time. Even though the majority of successful businessmen, scientists and artists follow this type of living, many of them are not delighted with it. Take a typical dual-income family as an instance, each parent works in a different location with different work hours and different times to commute. It is nearly impossible for them to manage the time they arrive home to have a meal. Nevertheless, families who do not eat together often suffer a lack of enough bonding because eating together is one of the core aspects of enjoying family relationships technically. In addition, children brought up under these circumstances would encounter emotional insufficiencies as a result of not receiving enough attention and love from their parents. Research shows that the highest rates of truancy and delinquency happen in families which do not gather to share their eating time. All in all, although some career and financial success is attributed to hard work and not eating with family, it seems negative progress because of the problems associated with it. It is better to make a work /life balance to enjoy a successful life that is psychologically healthy as well.