An increasing number of people are buying what they want online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is a rise in the number of people that shop for necessary items on the internet. The positive aspect of this phenomenon is that is convenient both for customers and for those selling their products. However, the drawback is that customers lack the opportunity to see what they buy in real life and they receive products that are not consistent with what they thought they bought. This needs to be tackled by the companies and they have to allocate their resources to customer services handling the return of unwanted products. Shopping online is convenient for customers. It is easy to search for an item, determine the costs from different manufacturers, and perform payments. Then, the package of the ordered product is dumped in the mailbox a few days after. Thus, time is not wasted on driving back and forth to a mall and searching for products in various shops. For the companies, it is also convenient as they do not need to have physical shops with staff selling the items, but instead, use computer programs that work around the clock and make sure their products are sold. For instance, Amazone and Wish make a profit because of advanced programs are handling the selling process. However, although shopping online is commonplace and preferable among many, it has its downsides. The downside is that the order may not live up to one’s expectations. Viewing a product on the internet may give another impression than if the product was evaluated in a shop. It is impossible to touch and smell the product while shopping online. Moreover, the colours and the texture of the product may appear different on an image than what is real. A typical example is when shopping for clothes. One assumes that a blouse of your size is fitting, but when you try it on, it looks completely different from what you imagined. Also, companies online need to find ways to take care of the returned products, which can be a challenging task. To conclude, there are positive and negative aspects when shopping for products. Convenience is the keyword for the former while needing to handle unwanted products is the latter.