Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best ways to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime rates have been increasing enormously in recent years. While some think that a longer prison punishment should be given to solve this problem, I agree with those who feel that other useful methods can be used to reduce the rising criminality rate. On the one hand, it could be argued that keeping offenders in prison for a longer duration can decrease the crime rate. Those who support this idea claim that such punishment might create fear in people’s minds. In other words, if a person is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any illegal work, it may discourage him from becoming a criminal. For instance, Saudi Arabia, where the ramifications of committing a crime are much harsher than the rest of the world, has much lower criminality rates. In addition, people also think that a longer prison sentence can help many criminals to understand their mistakes and their consequences. Consequently, they may try to spend the rest of their lives peacefully, which means crime and recidivism rates can decrease. I, however, side with those who believe that alternative ways should be used to reduce crime rates. First and foremost, providing proper education and employment facilities can solve the issues far more effectively. Certainly, as these opportunities may keep the people busy, nobody will try to commit any offence in their lives. In Sweden, for example, schooling is free, and employment options are better, which has resulted in Sweden being awarded as the most peaceful country in the world. Moreover, in my opinion, the most effective way is to open training workshops in prison. If the government starts training prisoners in some mechanical or electrical working areas, they may try to find a suitable job after completing their punishment and stay away from doing any criminal act. In conclusion, although a longer prison punishment helps to create fear among criminals, other options like education, training workshops, and employment opportunities are more effective ways to prevent committing an offence. Therefore, I believe that instead of a long prison sentence, other ways should be considered to reduce crime.