Most of the world’s poor live in countries where tourism is a growth industry. The issue is that tourism does not benefit the poor. How can the income generated by tourism benefit the poor? And how can we ensure that tourism does not destroy traditional culture and ways of life?

Many economic experts assert that tourism does not benefit the poor even though most of the world's poor live in countries where tourism is a growth industry. I would like to explain why tourism does not benefit the poor, how income that can benefit the poor can be generated, and how to prevent tourism from destroying traditional culture and ways of life. First of all, many experts say that the reason why tourism does not help the poor is that most of the money which comes from tourism goes to the rich. People who have sufficient money can develop attractions that are worth going to like a botanical garden, a zoo, and so on. In contrast, poor people are just staff who work there, receiving low wages. Therefore, the poor cannot make much money from tourism. Therefore, tourism that benefits the poor should be in some places like a market. For example, tourists buy products like handicrafts, souvenirs, or traditional goods in a store in the market, then that money will go directly to the store owner. It can directly help them. Therefore promoting some sites which are relevant places to the poor like a market and making tourists spend money there may help directly. Moreover, it is also important to prevent tourism from destroying traditional culture. In addition to promoting this market, they can also promote experiencing their lifestyle and traditional culture through tours, such as trying on their traditional clothes or sleeping in their traditional house. This kind of tourism can help them to make money without destroying their own cultures. To sum up, tourism does not help the poor because most of the money made from tourism goes to the rich. Promoting some sites like a market that is relevant to the poor directly and allowing them to make money can be a solution. Also, tourism can include experiencing their traditional culture and lifestyle not to destroy their own cultures.