Some people think it is more important to plant trees in open areas of towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

As modernization and civilization have been processed, people need more houses and buildings. In response to these needs, a lot of housing is built at the moment. However, the positive effects of planting trees in open areas of towns and cities outweigh the benefits of building more housing. First of all, I believe that plants can relieve the stress of residents in cities and towns. A lot of people feel stressed and frustrated in the city which is packed with high-rise buildings. Also, people are likely to have a sedentary lifestyle nowadays. However, green areas with plants give residents time to escape from complex city life and give places to move their bodies. For instance, Han River parks and Seoul Forest parks are always crowded with people who want to enjoy the picnic and get close to the natural environment. This is why it is necessary to plant trees in the city and villages. Another reason is that green plants can function as air purifiers in the city. In other words, sufficient plants can purify bad air by absorbing carbon dioxide and giving us fresh oxygen. The towns where many people live are filled with bad air coming from cars and factories. Thus, planting trees in open areas of towns and cities are more important and required than building more housing. To sum up, I reckon the value of planting trees are bigger than building more housing in cities and towns because the benefits brought from plants are very huge.