Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

In recent years more and more people are getting into debt, the cardinal reason for this phenomenon is people purchasing stuff that is unnecessary or even unaffordable. In this, essay I will be discussing the main reasons for this habit and what measures could be taken to overcome this issue. To begin with, many people nowadays are facing debt due to overspending which is mainly encouraged by advertisements. Advertisements are everywhere in the stress, TV, even in our mobile devices we receive advertisements messages. Moreover, following famous people and trying to live their luxurious life by buying the latest fashion trend and the most recent tech items will not only lead to bankruptcy but also get into debt. A recent study that was conducted in the UK showed that almost 60% of people who have credit card debt is due to buying fancy expensive thighs that they can not afford. Moreover, making bad financial decisions plays a major role in many people falling into debt such as buying an expensive car or withdrawing retirement funds. All of these things are disastrous financial moves that could lead to a person being in debt. However, there are many measures that could be taken by individuals and governments to tickle this issue. Firstly, there should be a clear regulation that is followed by banks and financial institutions. For example, the credit card that is given to the cardholder should be aligned with that individual income. Furthermore, instead of building more malls and shops that attract people to spend more, governments should focus on building more schools or funding the health sector. And last but not least one should have the self-discipline to be able to control overspending problems. In conclusion, having debt has become a major issue that is affecting millions of people so in order to overcome this problem individuals should have self-discipline and awareness about what is necessary and what is a luxury, also governments should make strict rules that should be followed by financial instructions.