Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people have had a different perspective about the purpose of education. Some individuals think that education is aimed to aid a person to be helpful to the public. However, others believe that it should ease people to obtain their personal goals. This essay will discuss both views of the argument and I will give my own perspective. On the one hand, many people argue that education is meant to help individuals to be beneficial for society. It is commonly acknowledged that at schools, students are trained and educated, not only about how to be prepared and good for future jobs, but they are also taught to work on social work. For instance, when I was still at a college, I was majoring in teaching English programme. My lecturer brought me and my classmates to an orphan house to voluntarily teach English. By having this activity, I have learned not only how to be good in the field of my study, but I also could be more satisfied by being useful for others around me. On the other hand, others believe that the purpose of education is for assisting individuals to reach their personal dreams. We have been convinced that to be able to obtain a promising job, one should have a qualification which is obtained through education. For instance, if somebody wants to be a lawyer, he or she should attend a formal education to get knowledge and finally could be certified to be the profession he wants to be. In other words, someone cannot be the profession he really wants like a lawyer, if he does not have the qualification gained from the education. Thus, education is significantly important to achieve someone’s goal. To conclude, though some groups of people have their own perspective about the purpose of education, I think it depends on one’s preference. If you intend to work socially, like becoming a teacher, you definitely should get an education and work for others. Nonetheless, if you are willing to a job like a lawyer, you should reach it through education.