‘All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

It is almost universally accepted that individuals should start learning other language when they are at a young age. However, the concept might have flaws in some ways. First of all, it is inescapable fact that every child has different degrees of learning speed. Thus, the idea that every youngsters should be learning a new language as soon as they start the school brings consequences for some students including failure to study their own language. Increased pressure to study other language may grow the possibilities of inadequate attention to study for their mother tongue. Since the language is the basic of learning classes, it is possible that children may fail other school subjects as well. Secondly, beginning to learn a language later than the first grade doesn’t necessarily have unfortunate results. In Japan, an interesting study has been conducted. One school has started teaching a language from their primary school and the other has started from the middle school. When participants graduated high school, the students who started learning a new language from middle school had not just the same skills, but some of them even exceeded than the students who started learning from elementary school. This study suggests that starting at later ages doesn’t have substantial effects in learning language. Admittedly, I agree with those who believe to start learning a new language at a young age is imperative. As Nelson Mandela once told, “If you speak to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to his own language that goes to his heart”. Without a doubt, there are delightful advantages. Namely, to widen opportunity to learn things, to have more career options and to improve the overall memory. However, this becomes impractical aspiration when it comes to every child. Overall, children’s different levels of learning speed and indifferent result of starting to learn at a young age or a later age are the main causes that suggests it wouldn’t suitable for every child.