Social media is becoming increasingly popular among st all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, social media is acquiring more and more users as years passing by and sharing personal data on it without limits may have a negative effect. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the statement. To begin with, I am of the belief that social network has two main advantages. First and foremost, it gives the opportunity to people socialize and communicates with each other from distance. In my personal experience, when I moved to another city for my studies in university social platforms played a pivotal on me in order to keep in contact with my family and friends. Never before have we had this chance to communicate with the people we love so fast and convenient. Apart from that, this trend has given us the possibility to raise our voices in many cases which plague our society. A clear illustration of this could be said to be that in the past 10 years, we reduced the discrimination in cases like homophobia and racism. A clear example of this is the case of George Floyd, where citizens around the world were asking for equality and tried to reduce discrimination through social media. On the other hand, there is a predominant effect as well. Nowadays, many users share their personal data through social platforms without considering the risks. This is a major disadvantage for a variety of grounds. For instance, many folks have been hacked or they have seen their photos used by faked accounts. There are also cases where hackers asked for money in order,not to publish their personal moments and photos. To sum up, I am convinced that in reality, the advantages and disadvantages resemble two sides of one coin, which usually runs parallel. In order to be safe and also free to share our opinions, I think that governments should have some solution to handle this tendency and at the same, time they should promulgate new legislation to protect the users of social media.