Nowadays many people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of news. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present, social media has been widely used to communicate with other people and has also been used as a source of news. In my opinion, the upsides of using social media definitely outweigh the downsides. To begin, social platforms have been generally used among every generation. One of the most significant concerns is that people tend to have less physical interactions with others in real life. For example, during meals, some members of my family were often on their phones, not having conversations with other members. In addition, since any person can post anything online, there is often a lot of fake news. So, some people such as the elderly are likely to be convinced and believe wrongful information. However, there are many advantages of social media to be considered. First, the platforms have made it easier for people to connect to each other. For instance, when I was an exchange student in Japan, I had to live far from my family, thus I would feel homesick. Having social media helped me to communicate with my siblings easily and made me feel closer to my home. Second, news can spread more widely and fast. To illustrate, in the past, people had to wait for newspapers every morning, but now people can read news anytime. As a result, people can be aware of harmful incidents or upcoming disasters so that they can prepare themselves. In conclusion, although social media can lead to some problems including lower interactions between actual people, and fake news, it helps people from distant places to interact with each other more conveniently, and also helps news spread more quickly and widely. In my opinion, the benefits surely outweigh the drawbacks.