Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, transportation has become a significant concern for the government. Some people argue that the government should invest more in building and maintaining railway systems rather than spending funds to improve roads. In my perspective, I certainly agree with the statement, but I also believe that the decision of building railways or roads should be made based on the preference of citizens. To begin with, in developed countries, the train is efficient and comfortable commuting. The high capacity of trains is able to deliver a major of passengers with fixed timing. Hence, this positively reduced the number of cars used and traffic congestion in peaked hours, which can save more time for an individual. For example, over 70% population in Mumbai preferred to commute by railways to work due to the overcrowding on the road and the low-cost tickets it brings. In addition, railways are contributing several positive effects to the environment and the traffic. As a result of reducing vehicles on the street, the carbon dioxide and gas that are released into the environment, causing air pollution, is decreased. Moreover, road construction causes destruction to society. For example, in some areas, the extension of the road is going to take place for a few months, this causes damage for the houses and shops around, which is a huge loss for local people. Furthermore, the number of car accidents are increasingly due to various reasons. Although roads connect many remote areas, when heavy rain occurs, the roads get congested in which people are not able to reach the destination on time. In conclusion, investing in the railway's system is an efficient solution for traffic congestion and the environment. However, the authority needs to ensure that their area are suitable for railway networks and the local people