Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human’s life. Discuss both views and give your opinion – Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that these days learning from mistakes of the past is important to avoid repeating previous mistakes during take decisions about our life today. The question is, is history the main source of information to understand human's life or we can not learning from previous mistakes in the history to take better decisions today? In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and draw my own conclusion. In terms of some views, some people believe that history can not supply us a benefit information to make the best decisions in this time. The main reason given to support this claim is that nowadays the world globalized and face a different kinds of challenges such as climate change, Thus, there are not challenges in the past today. To illustrate, the climate is a modern phenomenon require policies and new procedures, and as the climate change did not exist in the past, people will not be able to learning from prior challenges in the history how to mitigate the problem of climate change nowadays. However, there are people believe that history may be actually a helpful source of information. This is because prior wrong decisions in history maybe help us to take better decisions today by avoid repeating previous mistakes. In other words, there was a lot of wrong practices in the past regarding human rights just as, racial discrimination and gender discrimination. people in the past used to treat Africans as slaves. Moreover, women were not guaranteed equal rights as men. Therefore, when people come to know problems behind these negative practices, they take new procedures to avoid previous wrongs. In conclusion, although challenges that we face it today differ from challenges in the past. I believe that governments can use the history as source of information to avoid repeating the mistakes of the past in the future.