Human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Others believe that effective measures can be taken to improve the situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The proliferation of human activities has led to a negative impact on many species. While some people believe that it is too late to reverse the damage, others believe that some positive actions are still possible to be done to make an improvement regarding this situation. Although many species are categorized as critically endangered due to human activities, I believe the advancement of technologies and commitment would be able to improve this situation. Regarding this, global warming, which is ultimately caused by human activities, has made the earth's temperature continuously rise. As a result, many species are vulnerable to extinction as the forest turns into industrial areas. Take Sudan as an example; it was the last male white rhino who lived in conservation instead of roaming free in their natural habitat, and finally died around five years ago. Although the conservation efforts seem to be in vain, it is also needed to note that several species are just prone to extinction because of their slowly breeding nature. This is the reason why, I believe, technological advances are still possible to mitigate human impact on the ecosystem. Moreover, there are many succeeding cases regarding this, such as panda conservation in China that makes the animals reclassified from 'endangered' to 'vulnerable', reaffirming the decade-long effort of the country. On the contrary, numerous efforts have been made, such as reforestation and stricter environmental laws, which show that the commitment and effort have an impact and would make a difference. An international pact is continuously planned with promising outcomes. The Paris Accord in 2015, for example, put a consensus to almost all nations to reduce emissions and commit to maintaining biodiversity. Moreover, environmental issues have been a main agenda in the United Nations, urging every country to change. I believe, this mass movement will increase awareness and empower both individuals and communities to take action and contribute to saving the planet. In conclusion, while the effect of human activities has directly caused the loss of biodiversity, I believe that effective measure of technology and communal effort needs to be taken into account to decrease this problem.