Despite greater access to school education, many adults today still cannot read or write. How does this affect them in life? What can government do to help them?

Even though the accessibility to education has been improved over the past years, there are still many people who are unable to read or write throughout the world. People lacking the ability to read or write can have some disadvantages, but governments can alleviate the problem by making efforts to help those illiteracies. To begin with, illiterate people will face difficulties with finding their occupations. Since most of the common jobs require the ability to read and write, literacy is one of the vital qualities in modern society. However, if someone cannot read or write, employers are going to be unwilling to hire that person. Moreover, those people without the capability of reading or writing can be easily exposed to an unfair situation. As they cannot comprehend the law, they are more likely to be located outside the safeguard of law. For instance, when they get unreasonable treatment, it would be even harder to ask for help from authorities than normal people for they are illiterate. Nevertheless, the current situation can be handled by several proper actions taken by governments. First and foremost, administrations should provide free lessons from basic to a high level. Through this program, people without skills to read or write will become literate, society can also find some talented by educating them. In addition, ministries have to try helping illiterate to be in a fence of law. For instance, tv programs such as quiz shows about some laws people must know can be a way to make illiteracies understand the laws and utilize them. In conclusion, although there are some issues caused by this phenomenon, suggested measures can be introduced to address the situation. Therefore, the whole society has to pay attention to reducing the number of illiterate.