Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that by adding more areas to play sports, people ’s health can be improved, while others argue that other actions are needed. People think that when people have easy access to sports facilities, they tend to exercise frequently and that their health will improve. I believe that educating public about healthy eating will yield the expected improvement in the health of public. People tend to go and play a sport with their friends, if the sport facility is closer to where they live and work. Because they do not need to waste time commuting to those places and if they play frequently, their health will have a positive impact. For instance, a study found that, there was a 5% increase in playing badminton, when the badminton court is placed within walking distance. However, in my opinion, people tend to play less because of the busy lifestyle. On the other hand, it is thought that participating in healthy eating workshops have a positive impact on the health of people. This action can reduce the amount of salt and oil consumed from fast food and this will reduce the risk of heart attacks. For instance, a study found that, participants who attended a workshop on healthy eating, reduced their fast food intake by 2%. I believe this thought is preferable because changing the mindset of the society about the consumption of fast food, will help to improve public health. In conclusion, although creating increased number of sport areas, give more opportunities to play and improve the health, in my opinion, because of the busy lifestyles, people do not play a sport. This has a negative effect on the public health and alternate actions such as educating the public about healthy eating will have a more positive effect on the health of the people.