Some people think that new houses should be built in the same styles as older houses. Others believe that the local council should allow people to choose different designs for their houses. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern society, there is a wide range of styles in terms of building houses. Therefore, some think that individuals should be allowed to choose different designs for their houses. Others believe that new houses should be built in the same ways as older ones. It is clear that people should be allowed to construct their houses as they want to. The first aspect to point out is that there should be a wide range of arrangements in terms of building a house. This is because there is also a variety of lifestyles in modern society. Therefore, the need from the public has changed significantly compared to in the past. For example, a couple with children would choose designs that are suitable for parenting their children such as a safe environment in the kitchen and garden. This trend is beneficial for the public when it comes to comfortable and safe life. However, it could be suggested that constructing houses in the same manner as older ones might have a positive impact on the community. The reason for this idea is that customs in the older houses would be preserved, thus, the elderly would not struggle with modern life. However, it is a fact that Japanese traditional buildings are inconvenient in terms of looking after the elderly. For instance, a senior person needs to use stairs in their own house even though they have physical issues. In this case, they or their family will need to reform their house in order to make it easier for them to move around the house. To conclude, as far as I am concerned, the public should be allowed to choose different designs for their houses by the local council. This is because as people's lifestyles have changed, their need has also been shaped. In order to fulfil this need, there should be a wide range of choices in building them.