Nowadays, face to face communication has decreased because it has come under the influence of social media such as Facebook, Telegram, Twitter,or Instagram. Do the benefits of this advancement outweigh its drawbacks?

Nowadays, online communication apps has altered in-person connection. Due to its effects on families and society, the drawbacks prevail over the merits. Overuse of social media has reduced family talk between parents and their offspring. Having an intimate relationship among family members has been a major concern for years. Spending hours on the Internet is a halt to creating a bond in the homes because there will be no time left for a productive conversation. Additionally, society will be facing individuals who have not learned basic communication skills. To illustrate, lifestyle in the community is different from social media. People tend to hide their real personalities on apps such as Instagram and Facebook which poisons the relationships because making a distinction between real and virtual intention will be impossible. On the other hand, amid pandemic, necessitate all to do social distance and follow the precaution measures. In the prevailing circumstances, mates and families are inclined to talk through an online platform rather than in-person conversation to maintain health and spend less money on travelling. To conclude, using social media for communication will deteriorate the emotional situation between families. Consequently, it makes it difficult for citizens to create and expand their relations.