The world is experiencing a dramatic increase in population. This is causing problems not only for poor, undeveloped countries, but also for industrialized and developing nations. Describe some of the problems that overpopulation causes, and suggest at least one possible solution.

The population has been increasing at an exponential rate globally which is creating problems for both the poor and underdeveloped; and industrialized and developed countries. Overpopulation causes major issues for all the nations such as congestion on roads and crowding in cities. Therefore, these problems can be tackled by encouraging use of public transport as well as by changing infrastructure of urban regions. Owing to overpopulation, people face problems of road congestion and crowding in cities. Firstly, many people own private automobiles for their convenience in all countries around the globe. Some of the poor also take loans to buy their own cars. Consequently, increased number of private vehicles results in the problem of traffic delays and congestion on roads. Secondly, majority prefers to live in cities and the world population is increasing rapidly, urban areas become extremely crowded. Take London as an illustration where crowding can be seen everywhere due to overpopulation. The practical solutions to these problems are increasing the use of public transportation system and changes in the infrastructure of urban regions. People can be motivated to use public transport more than their cars by education and awareness. Students can be taught at schools and television programmes can teach adults about the benefits of using trains, buses and trams instead of cars. In addition to this, alternation in infrastructure of cities can reduce the issue of crowding. Urban planners can introduce new architectural designs which can be incorporated in urban areas to mitigate overcrowding. For instance, skyscrapers and tower blocks construction can accommodate a huge number of people in cities. In conclusion, overpopulation creates problems of traffic jams and crowding in cities. However, these issues can be dealt with if people prefer public transport over private vehicles. Moreover, the infrastructure of cities can be modified to cater for the contemporary needs of people.