Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays it is common for many people to know English, at least at a basic level, even if the native language is a different one. Some may argue that you only really need to know this language if you are planning on travelling abroad or relocating to an English speaking country. However, there can be plenty of other benefits that come from being able to understand this universal tongue. In this essay we will discuss both of these views. If one plans to move to a foreign country and adapt well to their new life there they will indeed need to have a good level of the local tongue. For instance, if you receive a job offer that requires you to move to Los Angeles, California being Change the form of the verb is show examples familiar with the language would allow you to express yourself and communicate with others. Having a considerable understanding of the English language is also a great advantage when travelling internationally. Almost every big city around the world provides tourists with services in English. Therefore, it is without a doubt that being able to speak, read, write and understand English are great skills to have for But these are not the only situations in which one can benefit from knowing this idiom. Since most of the entertainment produced and consumed worldwide come from the United States, some could state that it is really convenient to understand what the characters of a movie are saying without requiring subtitles. Or know what a song is about just by listening to it. Aside from serving entertainment purposes, an advanced level of English can make a candidate stand out in a job application, landing them the job of their dreams. There are really an infinite amount of things in which you can really excel when you have a good knowledge of English. I agree with this second view and have many personal experiences that can support it. Entertainment wise, I have the opportunity to watch my favourite shows before my friends who don't know English, since I don't have to wait for them to be translated into Spanish. Work-wise, I get to apply to many different positions that demand an intermediate or advanced English level. Overall, learning English is a great idea and will give you access to many new opportunities. If you have the chance to sign up for lessons at your school I without a doubt recommend you to do so.