Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

Although most health professionals have suggested the elderly should practice physical activities, some still choose to not have an active life. This essay discusses reasons why this occurs, as well as possible ways to motivate people to work out. There are a few causes for leading sedentary lifestyles. One is that most do not have awareness of the importance of exercising in order to have a better quality of life. For example, some people with more than 70 years old, did not have a subject at school focused on learning the consequences of not practising exercise. Besides, many did not have either the money or the time to try at an early age. For instance, the ones that had to start working after school could not afford specific clothes or equipment or were really tired at the end of the day. Therefore, it becomes less likely that this habit will be created during old age. Nevertheless, some actions could increase the number of people who exercise. One way to motivate the population is teaching at school more about the effects of having an active and healthy lifestyle. For example, having three classes a week would be enough to absorb all the important theories, and could also help each one to find an activity that they appreciate to create a habit. In addition, thinking about the elderly, the government could offer free classes, such as dance and gymnastics, in different neighbourhoods. That would help to raise awareness and become leisure. In conclusion, the reasons for not exercising may be that many have never had a chance to learn its real benefits, and others maybe did not have enough money or time to start it when they were young. However, bringing the knowledge and the chance to try different activities during childhood would help a lot to create a habit. Besides, offering free different classes could make it become more accessible to everybody.