Nowadays, face to face communication has decreased because it has come under the influence of social media such as Facebook, Telegram, Twitter,or Instagram. Do the benefits of this advancement outweigh its drawbacks?

It is undeniable that social media has had a significant impact on how people relate to each other. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether the overall effect of this phenomenon has been positive or negative. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that the drawbacks of this trend far outweigh its benefits. These disadvantages are twofold. First of all, it is an indisputable fact that social media has deteriorated the level of self-confidence among its users. Long before the boom of social media, people met each other in special places and occasions such as schools, universities, workplaces and parties. That being said, suitable outfit, appealing gestures and outstanding oral skills would had played pivotal roles in initiating new connections. Nowadays, however, people try to find new connections while lying on the sofa with an untrimmed face. Such accessibilities, inclined people to undermine mentioned principles of communication resulting in losing confidence when being in actual occasions. Take teenage Instagram influencers as vivid examples, they will not be able to socialize effectively and face major embarrassment, if they are deprived from their devices. More importantly, though, public health in communities whose members allot considerable hours to social media looks vulnerable. Using social media excessively, has a tendency to pulling people towards sedentary activities rather than active lifestyles. Due to diversity of social media `s functions, one can cater to his or her needs via various applications. Even the most active sports trainer can record some videos and share it on Youtube, unlike the older times when they had to work several hours in the gym. Given the increasing trend, there is every likelihood that people would be more liable to suffer from ailments such as high blood pressure and heart disease. Hence, it is evident that public health will be fraught with danger thanks to versatile social media. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that sophisticated social media can be considered as a noticeable threat since it has worked to the detriment of self-confidence and public health.