Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measure do you think might be effective?

Never before have we seen so much air pollution and traffic congestion on earth. In order to stamp out these issues there are two feasible solutions. Firstly, to go up the price of gasoline and secondly to adopt more eco-friendly habits. To begin with, I strongly agree that the price of gas plays a pivotal role in air contamination as well as traffic congestion. A clear illustration of this could be said to be that, recent research which carried out by two prominent professors in Greece has shown that, when the value of gas is rising results in the usage of private cars (usually cut down). So, I am convinced that if interventions are taken on petrol`s price, the scarcity risk could be significantly reduced. After that, I am of the belief that eco-friendly habits are also crucial in order to mitigate this problem. For example, leaderships should foster and give incentives to citizens to use public transport. This will be mutually beneficial both for individuals and environment. This is mainly because mass transits are much more affordable than the usage of private cars and also the same research I mentioned before has indicated that, in cities where citizens mainly use public transportation instead of their cars (Amsterdam) produce less carbon dioxide and have less traffic congestion than other cities. To sum up, I believe that it is urgent action must be taken in order to tackle these problems and only through the concerted efforts of leading parties and citizens can this issue be inverted.