Some people believe it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, People are divided in their opinions regarding free access to either academic, business, or research -related information. In my opinion, access to information shouldn’t be provided for free whereas accessing information should always preserve its owner's intellectual and material rights. The following paragraphs will be discussing both views before reaching a concrete conclusion. Firstly, scientists, business leaders, and researchers could be able to build upon existing knowledge to further develop their work, lead their organization towards success or even provide additional value to their beneficiaries. For instance, free access to medical research from advanced research institutes could help doctors treat their patients in developing and underdeveloped countries where they might get the credit and exposure for such work and they could get paid or funded by relevant clients and donors. On the other hand, researchers, scientists, business thinkers, and leaders devote years and years of their careers and money to come up with such research and ideas and to develop accumulated knowledge which is usually costly and hard to learn. They would want to not only protect their work from piracy or unauthorized use but also to get credit for it. As a result, they will be able to attract further funding and investments to continue their research, stay motivated and come up with new ideas and innovations. In conclusion, without the protection of ideas, businesses and individuals wouldn’t reap the full benefits of their inventions and would focus less on research and development. I believe that access to information should ensure the protection and accreditation of those who work hard to come up with it.