Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, school systems differ in their ways of dealing with academic standing, specifically with homework. Some say that students should be free from assignments after school while others like to agree that sending kids home with school work is vital in their education. I prefer the idea in which children should not have work after school hours. There are pros and cons when teachers do not send children homework past school time. One benefit is that children can finish their work at school which can give them a sense of fulfilment at the end of the day. This also can be beneficial as children come home to rest and play which will be also important in honing their social and creative skills. Although these benefits sound promising, one drawback of this can be that there will be a chance that children will be lazy which can be later on seen as a problem in their adult life. On the other hand, schools that give homework to students can also have positive and negative outcomes. One benefit shown in a research statistic is that students with assigned school tasks at home are shown to be more responsible and studious in their college years. However, even if this is the case, the disadvantage of this is that many children show signs of stress and poor development due to lack of playtime and rest. This actually causes poor coping mechanisms during their adult years. In summary, not sending homework to school children is more beneficial than sending them one. Both have benefits and risks but the disadvantage of sending pupils homework can be more devastating in their future lives.