The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last twenty years. Many of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children. to what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In the last two decades, the societal position of women has changed significantly. Some believe this to be the reason behind problems like minor crimes, as married women work and are not at home to look after their children all the time. I strongly disagree with this because a child's upbringing is a combined effort and dependent on many environmental and cultural factors. Juvenile crimes have happened irrespective of the working status of the women. Bringing up a child right depends on the quality of values imparted equally by both parents and not just the women. If the woman is available all the time, but the father stays absent or is abusive, it is a recipe for a disastrous upbringing. For example, in India, most minor crimes reported were from families where women did not work and were even aware of the tendencies. So a conservative approach cannot ensure the right upbringing. Furthermore, married housewives taking care of their children has never been able to reduce the chances of juveline javelina crimes because a child's character is heavily shaped by the kind of environment they are brought up in. A perfectly available mother combined with an abusive or immature partner would teach patriarchy to the child and normalize crime for him. Another place where they could get derailed is the kind of friends that they hang out with during their teenage. Teenagers may pick up criminal tendencies from evil elements in the society. For example, In the UK, teenagers picked up minor crimes at schools or playgrounds, with minimal awareness of this at home. To conclude, women are not solely responsible for a child's ubringing and restricting them at home would in no way assure. Juvenile crimes will keep happening until the child is brought equally with good values and subjected to the right environment.