In many cities an increasing number of people do not know their neighbours and there is a lack of a sense of community. What are the causes of this problem? How can it be solved?

Never before have we seen so many citizens that they do not have contact with their neighbours and there seems to be less communication with our peers. I personally believe that this rampant trend plagues our society more and more, over the years and I will introduce some solutions to these issues. Two predominant effects that this tendency is bringing about are, that we lose the sense of human beings as we are becoming more antisocial and individualists as well as this has a detrimental effect on our mental health. A clear illustration of this could be said to be that, recent research which carried out by two prominent psychologists in Greece has shown that when the occupants of apartments do not know or socialize with their neighbours are more common to feel loneliness or even worse to be depressed. Apart from that, the same research has indicated that the lack of a sense of community causes others issues as well. For instance, when a resident will need help in order to renovate his apartment, hardly he will find someone willing to help him. I am of the belief that only through our concerted effort can this problem be stamped out. For example, we should be more willing of offering help to our peers or much better if we aid the poorer citizens. This will be mutually beneficial both for ourselves and our society. If we act together I am convinced that we will raise stronger bonds between us. To illustrate this, I remember when 5 years ago me with a group of folks had provided aid to the poorer families in my hometown and this action had motivated more people to join the next year. To sum up, I think it is crucial that action be taken in order to tackle this problem. Also, this evidence supports the view that when we act together as a whole unit, we can increase the sense of community.