Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the homework tasks to pupils. While I understand that the teachers should not give an assignment to school children, I believe that homework has a key role on children. There are several reasons why people might argue that schools ought not to give an assignment. Firstly, this may put pressure on students to manage their schedule and finish given tasks. In addition, they can feel stress and be stuck in it. Secondly, they do not have enough time for leisure activities due to long school hours. Therefore, children have a lack of the social life, and they are growing up as a robot. Finally, they should be more encouraged about sports activities rather than many school tasks. For example, many students are not part of any physical activity because of the busy school curriculum in Turkey. In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that an assignment should be given to students. The main benefit of this is that their sense of responsibility will develop day by day, and it will help them with adult life requirements such as paying bills and group work in a job. Furthermore, students have only to study. In other words, their job is this. For instance, if children do not receive homework, they might spend many times on television, video games and mobile phone. In my opinion, their focus should be only on school. When I was a student, my teacher gave me lots of to do even in the summer holidays and I spent most of my time finishing my job. However, I am thankful to my teachers because this made me a responsible person in adult life. In conclusion, although given homework certainly has drawbacks, I believe that the benefits of this outweigh them in the long term. It will be helpful for their future life when they grow up.