It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In almost every country of the world, more focus is given to academic subjects and students are not taught much about the skills that could be helpful to them in real life. I have complete agreement with the given notion as even after graduating, students face difficulties in surviving in the work environment of a company, managing their daily needs and also socializing. Being productive in work is the prerequisite for any company and hence being resourceful is expected of an employee when he joins a firm or a corporate house at large. However, school or college education does not pertain to the above-mentioned requirements. Most of the study curriculum is designed in a way that mostly theoretical knowledge is imparted, due to which students graduating from high school and college have a tough time in getting decent employment. For instance, in India and many developing countries where theory-based education is given more importance, there about 70% of university graduates are unable to secure jobs even after graduating. Hence, I believe, equal attention if not more to practical education must be given. Students would not face many problems when they will enter the real market if they are trained for real-life through education itself. If the school syllabus is made in a manner that involves projects and assignments where students are required to lead, cooperate and socialise by using utmost mental capability of theirs, they will be bound to develop social skills that could aid them in dealing with the actual team-related and work-related problems. In some countries of the world, for example, such an education system is prevalent where students have to participate in one of such projects during their studies to increase their overall grades. Not only this many colleges also have students living on campus in hostels where they even get to learn to manage their basic necessities on their own without any help from their parents. And in my opinion, such a system of educating makes students ready for the world out there. In conclusion, teaching students the most important skills needed in leading a successful and fulfilling life when they are still growing is necessary.