Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are people who believe that today’s habit of purchasing things is persuaded successfully by the advertisement whereas others think the advertisement is ordinary so the attention will be less paid to. Both sides of the argument will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, technology has always been developed including the new tactics of marketing on online platforms these days. For instance, the majority of social network applications start to collect personal data from the users which involve texts and website searching history. Then, Those who work behind the apps will research what will users are likely to think about at the moment and put the promotion on the website. Because of this, most people tend to pay their money for the products that are promoted. On the other hand, some people find the advertisement is too typical, especially the old way of marketing. For example, people may not be interested in the promotion on TV anymore since there are many online movies and series streaming platforms. The payment of those platforms is required in exchange for removing the advertisement. Therefore, people may not be attracted to the old-fashioned way of commercials on TV. To summarise, the two sides of the argument concerning the existence of advertising have strong support. However, after a thorough analysis of both sides, it is clear that the second idea of the commercial cannot be supported. Nowadays people access the internet through many sites and applications which they have no permission to remove those promotions. Thus, the possibility of paying for things by online commercial is obviously high. In my opinion, I disagree with the second statement.