Task 2: Some people think that good health is a basic human need, so the medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do you think the disadvantages of private health care outweigh the advantages?

Some persons have raised the concerns of having free quality medical care not managed by money-making companies as part of fundamental human rights. Although, I would argue otherwise and believe that the benefits of running private health care far exceed the perceived threats. This essay will highlight both the demerits and merits of owning a non-governmental hospital followed by a reasoned conclusion thereafter. On the one hand, a lot of inconveniences are caused by the private sector. Firstly, the cost of treatment in such an establishment is relatively high when compared to a federal and a state hospital. Hence, patients spend more money in seeking medical help. Moreover, most individual clinics are managed by poorly-skilled medical personnel. Accordingly, there is a lot of mismanagement which can lead to severe complications and preventable deaths. To illustrate further, statistics have shown that there are more reported cases of poorly managed illnesses constantly referred to tertiary centres from private clinics. On the other hand, more benefits lean towards privately-owned health centres. To illustrate, due to their relatively small sizes, individual hospitals are easy to set up and manage. Therefore, they are common, reaching even rural areas where they offer basic health care needs. Furthermore, personal clinics offer a lot of job opportunities to the public. For instance, medical doctors, nurses, cleaners, lab scientists, and security men can all work in the establishments thereby improving the economy of the state. Also, authorities realize revenue from small firms through taxes which can be ploughed into other sectors to enhance the economy In conclusion, the benefits of having a privately-owned hospital far supersede the presumed risks. As a result, it should be encouraged in the country because of its influence on economic development.