Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

There are some subjects which are highly in demand compared to the others in modern societies. It is believed by some that the government should fund university fee for these fields and do not provide free of cost tertiary education to those who study less relevant subjects. This policy is beneficial in terms of economic progress and wellbeing of local inhabitants. Despite these advantages, this scheme is biased and it will only promote certain fields. Therefore, its detriments overshadow its benefits. Funding from the government to some fields - where specialists are needed-is significantly advantageous. It leads to economic growth and it is also beneficial for indigenous people. There are some fields, such as medicine, engineering and law which need experts to meet the challenges of modern communities. When the government takes the responsibility of expense of university education, this will attract more young talent towards these fields. This will boost economy because these professionals will work for the progress of their country. It will also help society as the availability of more experts of these fields will improve the quality of life of citizens by catering for their requirements. It will result in the financial prosperity and development of a nation. However, the financial support of the state to only few fields at university level is unjust. This will discourage many to go for their desired fields. For instance, if a student is interested in getting masters degree in arts but have limited finances, he will have to pursue career in an unwanted field which is offering fee tertiary education. Furthermore, many of the subjects will finally be eliminated from education sector because of lack of demand. In conclusion, as the government’s financial aid to some particular subjects will provide more relevant professionals who are good for the economic growth of a country and welfare of people. However, this policy is unacceptable because it will deter students to choose other fields of interest. Hence, its disadvantages take precedence over its disadvantages.