Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Schooling programs has always been a highly arguable issue. Society and parents always are demanding new projects in the curriculum for young adolescents. Sometimes this idea works, and sometimes it doesn’t. In my opinion, unpaid community service as a program is going nowhere. First, the core of unpaid service is defined by voluntary work, and when schools force children to do it, it may ruin the concept of this work. Students must feel their own free will, aside from this issue, if schools want to start this program, they should have a class for it to teach the essential concepts of unpaid social projects which are understood to think and help people and avoid to egocentric therefore like sports class, schools should be prepared students before beginning it. It seems fair to say that, today, schools are becoming more and more demanding; students should spend a lot of time doing their work; therefore, it is frustrating for them to do these projects after school when they want to be for themselves. If unpaid services were a part of the school’s classes, it would be great for students. Second, teens tend to disobey; hence, when schools oblige them to perform unpaid service, it may grow resentment because they see it as a duty. In my opinion, schools should be careful about these projects. They intelligently motivate children. For example, schools can encourage students by giving them some benefits that boost their confidence. In many respects, if the students don’t understand why they should do these services, they feel worse, and its negative effect stays for years. In conclusion, the disadvantages of these projects outweigh the advantages, and society should start these projects in other places.