A lot of young people do not know how to manage their money when graduating from high school. What do you think are the reasons? What can be done to teach them this important skill

Hard earned cash is like a treasure for those individuals who gave their blood, sweat and tears to acquire that certain amount of money.And for some individuals who had those, without even experiencing struggles are considered to be the lucky ones. Youth of today and even before were somehow not taught how to manage and value their money. But does being thrifty really have to be taught? To begin with, during our younger years, some of us are privileged enough to be able to buy the stuff that we wanted and needed from our hard-working parents. Others might have had everything in instant. As a result, kids not to be able to learn how to save up money for future purposes. For instance, I had this classmate before who is now my friend, she was provided with everything. Money was not an issue for her because her mom gave her cash every time she asked for it. And when we entered college, her family experienced a hapless situation and they need to cut some expenses especially those that are not essential. Unfortunately, she doesn't have any savings and that situation was so hard for her. I think the mentality that other rich parents had is one of the reasons why young people don't know how to manage their finances. Some do not expect misfortunes and are not prepared to handle these kinds of unfortunate events. Moreover, those who were fed with silver spoons were not prepared to undergo loss. Thus, this leads to a bigger problem for their kids due to a lack of skills in handling their own money. In my experience, when I'm in my youthful years, my mom would give me allowance but at the same,time she taught me how to spend it right. She told me to spend half of it on the things I want just to make sure that I don't deprive myself of the stuff that makes me happy and the other half she told me to put it in a box where I can hide it and consider it as dead money. I had have done it since my high school years up to the present. And when things were out of my control that I needed some money to up my bills, I was so lucky indeed that I had saved money for this kind of problem. In conclusion, parents or guardians should educate their kids in their early years on how to manage their expenses or money. These young people should be ready for their future by working hard to earn money. An to save those earned money.