Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the beginning, architecture has always been known as the cultural art of any city. But, with the technological advancement in the construction industry, internal features and options took significant importance when planning and designing a building. Still, many argue that the external look should be given more preference than functions, this essay balances both perspectives as a project should be perfectly delivered in all senses. Undoubtedly, the first impression counts, and that is also true for buildings. Whether you are going to a mall, Cinema or even Opera, the first sight to put your eyes on is the structure and appearance. Out of personal experience, the modernity and elegance of my current house was the main motive to make the purchase. Furthermore, the buildings’ design in a certain city reflects the history and glory of earlier civilizations. For example, the architectural beauty of the great Rome is just fascinating, the little attention to detail, the well-crafted mosaics are nothing to compare, and that is what makes the city a key destination in Europe. Having said that, appearance alone is not enough, as it should be complemented with smart and useful functionalities. Such as fire alarm systems, CCTV cameras, storage rooms, parking bays, and so on. For instance, a building with low accessibility for handicaps or people with special cases will affect the success of a project. Moreover, construction is a very expensive business, so everything should be well planned before the execution, as it will be a huge loss of money to repeat the work repeatedly. To wrap up, the external appearance of a building is equally important as the internal features and functionalities, and they should be both smartly combined for any project success.