Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extend do you agree?

Perspectives on how to punish offenders have Been one of the most concerns around the globe. Some people have supported the idea of keeping prisoners jailed,while others have argued that this is not an effective option. Instead, exploiting their useful resources and skills might be more beneficial.I strongly agree with the latter option and in this essay, I will support my view with further examples. In several situations, being behind bars isn't the most practical option. In many,cases criminals don't have the same motive to commit their crimes. For example, manslaughter is completely different from premeditated crimes which should receive a reduced sentence. Furthermore, not all offences deserve custodial sentence, such as drunk driving, shoplifting and pickpocketing, which could be punished by paying costly fines. Moreover, the environment inside the jail can encourage criminals to become repeat offenders as they will involve a diversity of guilty persons. On the other hand, other crucial steps can be taken.Rehabilitation and changing offenders behaviours and mindsets can be the best penalty. Distributing them to rehabilitation centres, therapy clinics and giving them the opportunity to get immersed in the community works, such as community service, can be a deterrent way to tackle this problem. To sum up,in most cases prison isn't a successful option to curb minor crimes,whereas rehabilitating and cognitive behaviour techniques are necessary to reintegrate those people into society again.