Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, it’s irrefutable that plenty of higher education is offering online learning courses to replace lessons taught directly at universities. From my perspective, although this idea has its particular downsides, I’m still more inclined towards the benefits that it brings. One of the undeniable advantages of this online learning is that students from anywhere can now gain access to tertiary education’s lectures anywhere and anytime they want. For example, a person from India in a modern world like today can easily enter an online learning course of a renowned university even though he is not abroad. In addition, videos in online learning courses also allow students to replay the parts where they do not understand, which a person can not do if he is joining a face-to-face learning classroom. Next, with more and more cutting-edge technology over the years and Internet-based applications today such as Skype and Messenger, a person can easily get support from his peers or teachers through chatting via mobile apps or emailing regardless of no face-to-face interaction. For instance, if a student joins in a direct learning classroom, he might have to keep quiet to the end of the class to not bother people around even though he has questions he wants to ask, but that would not be a problem to online learning in general and communicating via Internet-based applications in specific. In conclusion, even though online courses may still be a novel experience for universities students, they offer various merits. In the future, with much more advanced technology, traditional learning models may be completely replaced by online learning platforms.