Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages. even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, many people believe that universities ought to prepare seats for young students with the highest of marks only. On the other hand, some others believe that tertiary education should be made available for people of all ages although they may not have performed well at schools. This essay would attempt to compare the merits of both ways of thinking. It’s irrefutable that the large majority of universities today are meant for young people. The reason for that is because the young generation is the heirs to the future, so it would be fair to say that they deserve more chances than people of other ages to learn. If higher education does not offer learning opportunities to older people, the young generation would have more places available for them. In addition, the idea to offer seats in universities to the students with the highest marks only may not be entirely bad as they are bright, intelligent and hard-working youngsters, they put plenty of effort into studying so that’s why they get the best marks. On the contrary, the idea to accept people of all ages and abilities is not entirely bad as well. If higher education approves for older people to join in studying, this would create a great opportunity for different-aged people to meet, get to know, and learn from each other. Every generation has its strong and weak points. Giving them a chance to be close to each other would slowly help them to improve each other’s weak points. Secondly, accepting older people into universities can help a person get a chance to learn more or to restart their life. Apart from that, people ’s willingness to learn should also be considered since their younger selves’ performances at schools are based on various factors. For example, in the past, many people have to deal with their performances at schools and endeavour to earn a living at the same time, this situation leads to some of them may have to get bad results at schools as an obvious consequence. In conclusion, neither of the ideas is completely disadvantageous, both of them have their particular upsides. Higher education ought to consider opportunities for both young and older people since everyone deserves a chance to learn.