It is better to have a job that provides a very good salary than a job that pays less but is more satisfying. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s economic climate, many people are lucky to have a job and many have to put up with part-time or low-paid work. Taking this into account, I feel that while the ideal would be to have a job that is both well-paid and satisfying, to be practical, having a high salary is more important than having more job satisfaction. For one thing, whether one has a family or not, it is still essential to buy goods and services, and of course, this takes money. People may say that the basics can be bought with a reasonable salary, and a lot of money is not necessary. However, it seems from my experience that the more money you pay, the better the service you receive, for example, in education. If my children want to become doctors or researchers, the education fees will be extremely expensive, prohibitively so for most of the population. Only those with enough money can pay for the necessary university courses. A job that is satisfying but does not pay much would not do. As well as spending power, money tends to confer status onto those who have it. A person who is relatively well-off, particularly if this is because she or he has a high-paying job, is usually well thought of in the community. This may not be very useful, but it certainly leads to a feeling of well-being if your social standing is high. In contrast, someone doing a lower-paid job is not as respected. This is illogical, but it is a fact of life. Finally, being able to put aside money for later life or for a rainy day enables you to feel secure and to avoid money worries. As we all know, money problems are often the cause of marital problems and other family difficulties. If there is not enough money coming in, problems may arise or get worse. In short, it is better to put aside personal satisfaction to ensure that you and your family have the things, status and security you require for a comparatively worry-free life.