Just like the government spends funds on music and theatre, it does the same on arts too which is considered a waste of money. Don’t you think that the government should spend more on revamping public services? Do you agree? If no, then why?

The entertainment industry has been funded by governments of various nations with a huge budget each year, and some of the people advocate allocating the same amount of money for the renovation of public services. However, I differ in my opinion and will discuss the significance of arts in our societies. To begin with, art is a reflection of culture and it has been the symbol of pride for every nation these days to maintain their craft which signifies their achievements. To explain, all of the monuments in any nation depict their history and represent the country on the global level. For example, the Taj Mahal is one of the seven wonders of the world and it is because of these kinds of old monuments that people across the world acknowledge the greatness of India in its architectural history. Thus, spending public money on this area is in no way a waste. Additionally, renovating the art and keeping it preserved is beneficial for a nation in terms of the economy and employment sectors. To illustrate further, most of the historical sites bestowed by the art and culture of the past have been hot-spots for tourists which results in the generation of revenue for governments, additionally, this rush of outsiders to visit the art sites boosts up the businesses and employment opportunities. For example, in my hometown, there are numerous hill stations and historical Mughal empire buildings and parks, which are overwhelmed by tourists each month a year, therefore, most of the money for governing authorities comes from tourism. In conclusion, although many individuals consider spending on art as a wastage of public funds, these sites are the backbone of many nations around the world today and it is one of the ambitious visions to renovate them as it strengthens the economy and image of a country.