In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The debate around whether assigning a tangible budget for developing railway infrastructure is better than boosting the quality of other public transportation systems has raged on recently. I, for one, believe that buses or taxis are more common than trains. This essay delves into both sides of the issue and provides some logical reasons before drawing a conclusion. On the one hand, supporters of railway outline that this kind of transportation is so environmentally friendly since trains do not use fossil fuels such as petrol, as a result, does not have detrimental impacts on the environment compared with bus or taxi which carbon emission in those vehicles leads to global warming. In addition, trains are so comfortable, especially for long-haul distances and individuals do not squander their time in the rush hour. Finally, the casualty or mortality rates in railways are very low this merit plays a vital role in some cities such as Tehran where more than 20 million people live there. On the other hand, the opponents of this idea highlight that other vehicles such as buses or taxis offer a flexible route to the passenger as they have numerous stations across the city. Moreover, according to a recent statistic which has been published by the New York Times approximately 60% of the world population uses taxis or buses for their commuting. Having taken all into consideration, as far as I am concerned, the positive effects of spending money on bus or taxi outweigh the negatives as long as the volume of demand in those is so high.