Overpopulation in urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

The escalation in population has become a major concern these days. This has overpopulated the metropolitan cities which gave rise to many issues. This essay discusses the causes for such problems and suggests a few remedies to lower them down. Out of numerous causes for densely populated cities the furthermost issues concerns is, individuals from the countryside are moving to towns for a better job opportunity in order to boost their standard of living. This is because the countryside is less developed and has not much to offer in order to excel in their careers. Another concern which bothers in highly populated areas is the city traffic. As the population increase in the city, the number of commuters who travel from one place to another also rise and hence the vehicle on road is on the higher side which may lead to stagnant traffic. For example, every people travel through their own vehicle and create a traffic block till everyone is stuck. But, there are some practical solutions to lower the number of issues. Firstly, the government should improve the transport facilities. Such like, the road should be made broader and they should increase the frequency of public transport as well. The government should encourage people to use public transport for travelling in the city. in addition to it the society should step in bring out ways to reduce traffic like carpooling. This will indirectly reduce the air pollution in the atmosphere. Secondly, the government should also consider developing countryside areas as well. This will motivate the people living in the countryside to work there itself. To sum up, many concerns because of overpopulation in cities such as traffic which is caused due to carelessness of the people. But they can be resolved by providing adequate transport facilities by government and also taking initiative by individuals.