All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for a children's future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The ideal school program is not a unanimous metter. While some people believe that schools should focus on teaching skills, others might think that teaching a wide spectrum of subjects would be the best way to go. The next paragraphs intend to explain which one I consider the best considering the challenges that the future might bring to our kids. Firstly it is important that schools teach content that relates to students universe and can be applicable to everyday life. So I believe that some subjects should be universally thought. For example personal finance, first aid, sex education, basic constitutional law, history and English. In other words, all types of content that would help to build a sense of citizenship or give kids the necessary tools to have a balanced adult life. Nonetheless, the world is changing rapidly and it is becoming more and more complicated to predict what type of knowledge will be valuable in 20 years, for example. So I believe that it is crucial to prepare children to live in a world that will demand constant adaptation. That being said, in my,opinion it is better to teach them skills instead of specific subjects. For example self-study, self-discipline, resilience, in other words, soft skills in general. I believe that is the best way to go considering that the kids from today will probably have several careers during their life and will need to be constantly adapting and reinventing themselves To conclude, considering that kids are going to live in a fast paced world, full of rapid changes, in my opinion having a great set of skills is more useful than a variety of subjects. Curiosity, imagination and problem-solving skills are examples of what I think is crucial.