According to one survey, the life expectancy of people is increasing in developed countries. What problem will this cause for individuals and society?

While some experts are satisfied with increasing life expectancy in Western countries, others discuss their concerns about potential challenges it may cause. This essay will examine the unfavourable consequences that both individuals and society may experience. The main problem increasing life expectancy could cause individuals may be higher retirement age. In order to keep the employed and unemployed populations in balance, for example in Denmark and the Netherlands, federal governments have announced an update for public servants' retirement age. Although there may be some benefits for the governments, healthcare and financial systems in it, most citizens are now concerned about having to work longer years. Not only for individuals, but it may also cause some other serious problems for society. Higher retirement age means keeping thousands of more employees in the workforce each year. Hence society could face another challenge, the rising youth unemployment rate. Even though the decreasing birth rate and higher median age, in other,words an ageing population, would be advantageous for youth seeking employment, there will be less room for graduate employees if the retirement age is risen up. In conclusion, increasing life expectancy is a bitter-sweet topic for many experts, given the possibility of rising retirement age and youth unemployment rate in developed countries. Yet these challenges could be inevitable if governments take responsibility to start planning how to respond to them accordingly.