The benefits of computers in modern society far outweigh the disadvantages. What is your opinion?

The use of computers in the modern world has resulted in changes in society. Some of these changes have been to the benefit of society, while others have not. I think that the usage of these devices has far more advantages than disadvantages in modern life. On the one hand, computers are useful tools offering major benefits to people. Firstly, they enable machines to do dangerous work instead of humans. For example, in computerised car assembly factories, robots can perform difficult and dangerous work without stopping, whereas humans could suffer physical injuries if made to do difficult tasks for extended hours. Another advantage is that they have improved the speed of data processing, helping scientists to further develop modern technology. This means that astronauts can go into outer space using this modern appliance to control the orbit of the spaceship, the timing of fuel injection and other vital calculations. Consequently, space travel is safer and more efficient. However, these can be used in many negative ways in modern society. Firstly, when users input their private data, such as their name, address and date of birth, it is possible that this information could be taken and misused to commit fraud. For instance, a dishonest person could manufacture a false credit card using someone else’s stolen details. Another drawback of these devices is that many people have lost their jobs as they can shorten some processes usually done by humans, resulting in fewer workers being required. A good example is the banking industry in which many jobs have disappeared because of computer technology, such as ATMs and internet banking. To conclude, computers are being used extensively in many workplaces and for scientific applications and as a result, safety and efficiency have improved. However, they can have an adverse impact on crime and employment. Despite these negative aspects, I believe that the benefits of using computers in contemporary civilization undoubtedly outweigh any drawbacks.